Walking Distance

In a relatively small town like Rio Grande City, it can be argued that pretty much everything you need is within walking distance; but rarely do you ever see anyone walking anywhere.

We’re not too far from Mexico, both geographically, and culturally speaking. With everything that’s been going on recently (cartel wars), I haven’t been across the border in over a year now, but one of the key observations that always stood-out for me about “the other side” is that; people walked.

Sidewalks, and street crossings were always flooded with people, and I was always very impressed by that. It’s amazing how something as simple as walking outdoors next to anyone, even a complete stranger, can remind you of the simple truth that we can often take for granted; that we really are all equal, we’re all just “walking” to get somewhere in life (except for psychos).

I don’t know why we don’t like to walk anywhere, but I can tell you why I don’t do it. Two major factors really; Heat, and Stray Dogs. But, I have to say, it’s really more about the strays. Don’t get me wrong, I do like dogs, but they bite. I learned that the had way.

I wish I could say that, “from now on I’m going to walk everywhere” but that wouldn’t be true. I can say however, that if gas prices continue to go up at the pace that they have been, it will be something I’ll keep in mind the next time I need to get somewhere that is within reasonable walking distance, even if it does mean risking a dog attack or a heat induced dehydration.

(Image By Chasqui)

This entry was published on August 5, 2010 at 5:56 pm and is filed under Observations. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

